Classmates ~ truly forever friends

My classmates and I just celebrated our 50th class reunion from my hometown.  Our three county schools merged as one high school back in the year of 1966.  Can you believe it?

I can’t.

Time has passed by too quickly.  I’ve  had so many birthdays since then; I guess that’s a good thing, right?  I’m still kicking, golfing, and enjoying life.

My class was the second graduating class of this new school.  I’m sure it took a lot of getting used to on everyone’s part because we all dreaded leaving a place that we had already spent so many years at, but we all came together and shared our young lives, made new friends and graduated in a class of 99 students.

Seeing these friendly, smiling faces once again, some of whom I would not have known had they not had graduation photos and name tags on, was definitely the highlight of this year for me!  I will forever hold many of them near and dear in my heart because of the innocent, wonderful times that we shared as friends.

Going to Johnny’s Restaurant, hanging out, eating battered French fries, drinking cherry Coke, seeing friends and passing the time away; laughing, sharing secrets, making memories; that’s what it was all about.  It was an innocent age at that time.  Especially for me.  You can say that I lived a sheltered life under my Mom and Dad’s roof.

Some of us even met husbands to be there.  Who would have known?  Marriage was certainly not on my mind at 18 years old!  How about you?  Two years down the road and it happened.  Going on 48 years now.  WOW!

And, last but not least, we truly had the best music back then, too!  Well, at any rate, this was a sure favorite of mine that I will never forget and will always be one of my favorites.

Enjoy this special era with me ~ one more time.

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment