Memories ~

One of my girlfriends emailed me today and was telling me how her love of golf has been such an important part of her life, especially since she and her husband are temporarily in another state working.  As we know, there is no place like home!  This friend has had the opportunity of making so many new friends and is so thankful for the memories she is making.

Her inspiration made me think about my own life ~ if I had not married my husband or had not left my Vicksburg home.  Here are a few critical and meaningful points in my life to date:

I would not have had the opportunities that have brought me memories that will last a lifetime.

 I would not have been associated with or been employed at Mississippi State University for 18 years and worked for two of the finest gentlemen I’ve ever known.

I would have never known the excitement as our Mississippi State Bulldogs gained national attention and our Diamond Dawgs capturing the 2016 SEC Baseball regular season title.

I would not have met and have the personal friendships I still cherish and fondly stay in touch with had I not lived in Starkville and worked at Mississippi State, before moving to Alabama.

I would not have had the best job in the State of Alabama; nor would I have worked at one of the finest Championship golf courses.  I would not have met Jack Nicklaus, Tom Watson, Lee Trevino or worked during the 1990 PGA Championship tournament at Shoal Creek.

I might not have been able to quit my job at Shoal Creek, after eight years, to have the most important job in my life; to become the caregiver for my loving Mother for the last two years of her life.

I might not have had the most caring, helpful and loving in-laws and had the opportunity of being closer to them for about a year, or have become the caregiver for my sweet Mother-in-law, the last remaining months of her life.

I would not have four of the sweetest fur babies that greet me with excitement when I awake in the morning or come home from work in the afternoon (Sam, Rosie, Doogie, and Mattie).  Nor would I  have my precious Pearl, who loves to cuddle when I am trying to take a nap.

I would have never met my friend and mentor, Melda Silk, whom I came to love and appreciate her friendship as she volunteered in my office and always offered to work so that I could be off to play in golf tournaments.  I will miss our times having soup and salad at The Olive Garden and shopping for new lipstick at Dillards and our hugs to each other.  My friend, Melda, passed away March 21, 2016 at the age of 89.  She would have been 90 on July 24th.

All of these circumstances are Blessings and just a few wonderful remembrances that have brought meaning to my life. 

Stay tuned; I’m sure there will be more to come, but one of the most important Blessings I would not have had is ~ 

I would not have met you.

XO ~ Hassie

One thought on “Memories ~

Leave a comment